All Boards and Commissions | Vacancies | Expiring Terms | Search Active Members | Compensation | Apply | Submit Updates

Education Nominating Committee, Governor's Postsecondary

Authority: KRS 164.005
Status: Active
Term: 6 years
Description: The Governor’s Postsecondary Education Nominating Committee consists of seven gubernatorial appointees with one member representing each Supreme Court District in Kentucky. The bi-partisan committee meets semiannually or when deemed necessary to select a list of three nominees to fill each vacancy on each of the state university boards, higher education boards, and the Kentucky Council on Postsecondary Education.
Composition: 7 members representing each of the Supreme Court districts appointed by the Governor with the consent of the House of Representative and the Senate. In selecting members, the Governor shall solicit recommendations from each of the following: Advisory Conference of Presidents; Council on Postsecondary Education Student Advisory Committee; Associations representing faculty from universities, technical institutions and community colleges; Associations representing university , technical institutions & community colleges alumni; Postsecondary education advocacy groups; KY Board of Education; Associations representing business and civic interests; and Associations representing independent, non-profit colleges & universities. Members shall have no conflict of interest pursuant to KRS 45A.340, no relative employed by a public postsecondary institution, the Council on Postsecondary Education, the KY Higher Education Assistance Authority, the KY Higher Education Student Loan Corp., or the KY Authority for Educational Television, and no more than 2 persons holding an undergraduate degree from the same institution of higher education. Governor shall make appointments so as to reflect, inasmuch as possible, equal representation of the 2 sexes and no less than proportional representation of the 2 leading political parties and to assure that appointments reflect the minority racial composition of the Commonwealth.
Compensation: Expenses
Meeting Schedule: Semi-annually and as needed
Number of Members: 8
Needs Senate Confirmation: No
          700 Capital Avenue, Suite 132
          Frankfort, KY
County: Franklin
Phone: (502) 564-2611
Fax: (502) 564-2647


NameAppointedTerm ExpiresPositionCounty
Billingsley, Robert M.4/21/20164/14/2020MemberBarren
McCann, Eugene S.7/10/20124/14/2018MemberJefferson
Orange, Edwin R.4/21/20164/14/2022MemberFranklin
Minter, Angela Denise1/11/20174/14/2018MemberJefferson
Cook, Betty B.1/11/20174/14/2022MemberPulaski
Stafford, Melody6/26/20174/18/2018MemberOwen
Henley, Melvin10/11/20174/14/2020Calloway
Rice, Timothy Clark2/19/20194/14/2022MemberHarlan

Show Former Members