All Boards and Commissions | Vacancies | Expiring Terms | Search Active Members | Compensation | Apply | Submit Updates

Education Commission of the States

Authority: KRS 156.715
Status: Active
Term: At the pleasure of the Governor's Office
Description: The Education Commission of the States is an interstate compact created in 1965 to improve public education by facilitating the exchange of information, ideas and experiences among state policymakers and education leaders. As a nonprofit, nonpartisan organization involving key leaders from all levels of the education system, ECS creates unique opportunities to build partnerships, share information and promote the development of policy based on available research and strategies.
Composition: Commission consists of 8 members, 1 of whom shall be the Governor; 2 shall be members of the General Assembly, a Representative and a Senator, selected by LRC; and 4 members all appointed by the Governor.
Compensation: Expenses
Meeting Schedule: Annually and Call of the Chair
Number of Members: 8
Needs Senate Confirmation: No
          707 17th St., Ste 2
          Denver, KY
Phone: (303) 299-3624
Fax: (303) 296-8332


NameAppointedTerm ExpiresPositionCounty
Haselton, W. Blake9/19/2013MemberOldham
Bevin, Governor Matthew G.12/8/2015Ex-officio
Graham, Representative Derrick W.9/19/2013Ex-officio
Wilson, Senator Mike9/19/2013Ex-officio
Thompson, Aaron11/4/2016MemberMadison
Hutchinson, Bob M.11/4/2016MemberJohnson
Houchens, Gary Wayne11/4/2016MemberWarren
Powers, Sherry Wilson11/4/2016MemberFayette

Show Former Members