All Boards and Commissions | Vacancies | Expiring Terms | Search Active Members | Compensation | Apply | Submit Updates

Agricultural Development Board

Authority: KRS 248.707-709
Status: Active
Term: 4 years
Chair: Governor (or designee)
Description: The Agricultural Development Board is comprised of fifteen members, eleven of whom are appointed by the Governor. The Board was created in 2000 and serves to distribute 50% of the states monies received from the Masters Settlement Agreement for the general purpose of agricultural development within the Commonwealth. The Board invests these funds into innovative proposals to increase net farm income and effect tobacco farmers, tobacco-impacted communities and agriculture across the state by stimulating markets for Kentucky agricultural products, finding new ways to add value to Kentucky agricultural products, and exploring new opportunities for Kentucky farms
Composition: 16 members - 5 voting members or their designees, as follows: Governor, who shall serve as Chair; Commissioner of KY Dept of Agriculture, who shall serve as Vice-Chair & serve as Chair in the absence of the Governor; Secretary of Cabinet of Economic Development; director of the Cooperative Extension Service; and the President of KSU. 11 voting members appointed by the Governor, who shall be geographically distributed throughout the state & subject to the confirmation by the House of Representatives & Senate, as follows: 7 active farmers, at least 4 of whom shall be from counties substantially tobacco-impacted, and at least 2 of whom shall have experience in agricultural diversification; 1 rep of the KY Farm Bureau -- chosen from a list of 3 nominees submitted to the Governor; 1 rep of the KY Chamber of Commerce (agribusiness person) -- chosen from a list of 3 nominees submitted to the Governor; 1 attorney with farm experience and familiarity with agricultural policy; and 1 agricultural lender.
Compensation: reimbursed for expenses incurred
Meeting Schedule: The board shall meet monthly, or at the call of the chair or a majority of the voting members
Number of Members: 16
Needs Senate Confirmation: No
          Governor’s Office of Agriculture Policy 404 Ann Street
          Frankfort, KY
County: Franklin
Phone: (502) 564-4627
Fax: (502) 564-8990


NameAppointedTerm ExpiresPositionCounty
Bailey, Dr. Betty B.7/31/20137/6/2017MemberBath
Jones, Gordon5/18/19617/6/2019MemberWarren
Moore, Samuel E7/18/20147/6/2018Member; Kentucky Farm Bureau repButler
Pedigo, Al5/18/20167/6/2019MemberAllen
Bevin, Governor Matthew G.Chair
Quarles, Commissioner RyanVice Chair
Gill, Secretary Terry R. Jr.Ex-Officio
Cox, Dr. Nancy M.Ex-Officio
Thompson, Dr. AaronEx-Officio
Mahan, James R.8/18/20167/6/2020Member; Representing active farmers from counties substaintially tobacco-impactedFayette
Henderson, Patrick M.8/18/20167/6/2020Member; Representing active farmers from counties substaintially tobacco-impactedBreckinridge
Hughes, Stewart8/18/20167/6/2020Member; Representing active farmers with experience in agriculture diversificationScott
Barker, Mark6/27/20187/6/2022Member; Representing agricultural lendersOldham
Foree, Robert H.8/10/20187/6/2022Member; representing attorneys with farm experience and familiarity with agriculture policy
Hunt, Wayne8/10/20187/6/2022Member; representing active farmers
Hinton, Matthew Russell4/1/20197/6/2019Member, representing the Kentucky Chamber of CommerceFleming

Show Former Members