All Boards and Commissions | Vacancies | Expiring Terms | Search Active Members | Compensation | Apply | Submit Updates

Early Childhood Advisory Council, The Kentucky

Authority: KRS 200.700
Status: Active
Term: 4 years
Description: The Early Childhood Advisory Council (ECAC) was created by Governor Beshear’s Executive Order on July 12, 2011. Members are appointed to a four-year term and broadly representative of early childhood fields and regions. The chair of the Early Childhood Advisory Council is Rick Hulefel
Composition: Twenty-six (26) members, including; Secretary of the Education and Workforce Development Cabinet or designee; Secretary of the Cabinet for Health and Family Services or designee; One (1) early childhood development advocate; State Director of Head Start Collaboration;Six (6) private sector members knowledgeable about the health, mental health, education, and development of children, prenatal to school entry. One (1) private sector member shall be appointed from each congressional district;even (7) citizens-at-large of the state; One (1) member representing higher education with an expertise in early childhood; Six (6) members representing the following: one (1) member from Head Start located in the state, one (1) member from a local education agency, one (1) member from the state agency responsible for education, one (1) member from the state agency responsible for child care, one (1) member from the state agency responsible for Part C of the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA), and one (1) member from the state agency responsible for health or mental health;One (1) nonvoting member from the House of Representatives who shall be appointed by and serve at the pleasure of the Speaker of the House; and One (1) nonvoting member from the Senate who shall be appointed by and serve at the pleasure of the President of the Senate.
Compensation: Expenses
Meeting Schedule: The Early Childhood Advisory Council meets on the third Thursday of every other month.
Number of Members: 24
Needs Senate Confirmation: No
          125 Holmes St.
          Frankfort, KY
County: Franklin
Phone: 502-782-0200


NameAppointedTerm ExpiresPositionCounty
Parker, Tamara Allyson9/9/20166/30/2018Member; representing private sector and Congressional District IFulton
Dowd, Anita9/9/20166/30/2020Member; Advocate for early childhood developmentAnderson
Wooldridge, Amy R.9/9/20166/30/2020Member; Representing citizens at-largePulaski
Duvall, Amy Clardy9/9/20166/30/2020Member; Representing citizens at-largeWarren
Bell, ChristaMemberScott
Burch, Rep. Tom MemberJefferson
Colter, Barbara9/9/20166/30/2020MemberClay
Carroll, Sen. Danny11/24/2015MemberMcCracken
Gentry, Dr. Dreama9/10/20156/30/2019MemberMadison
Glisson, Vickie Yates BrownEx-OfficioJefferson
Goff, Paula8/23/20136/30/2017Member
Haddix, Tracy P.9/10/20156/30/2017MemberBarren
Heine, Cynthia J.7/25/20146/30/2018MemberFayette
Heiner, HalEx-OfficioJefferson
Hooten, Dr. Amy Hood8/23/20136/30/2017MemberButler
Hosinski, Dr. Daphne7/25/20146/30/2018MemberFayette
Hulefeld, Rick9/10/20156/30/2019ChairKenton
Miller, Jennifer2/6/20156/30/2018MemberFranklin
Pruitt, Stephen L.Member
Ramsey, Brigittie BlomMemberPendleton
Rowe, Nicki Patton8/23/20136/30/2017MemberSimpson
Williams, Deborah9/10/20156/30/2019MemberJefferson
Williams, Rita9/10/20156/30/2019MemberLarue
Yarbrough, Rachel9/10/20156/30/2019MemberWebster
Vanover, Sarah9/20/20189/20/2021Member; Representing state agency responsible for child careFayette
Lewis, Wayne9/20/20189/20/2021Member; Representing the lead state education agencyWoodford
Smith, Amy9/20/20189/1/2021Member; Representing local education agenciesPulaski
Hood, Amy9/20/20189/20/2021Member; Representing institutions of higher educationButler
Dowd, Anita9/20/20189/20/2021Member; Representing local early childhood education servicesAnderson
Shepherd, Sally9/20/20189/20/2021Member; Representing the Kentucky Head Start CollaborationAnderson
Goff, Paula9/20/20189/20/2021Member; Representing programs under Section 619 or Part C of the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA)Fayette
Putnam, Kristi9/20/20189/20/2021Member; Representing the state agency responsible for health careJefferson
Burton, Travis 9/20/20189/20/2021Member; Representing an early childhood education policy initativeGarrard
Burdette, Twila9/20/20189/20/2021MemberRockcastle
Ramsey, Derrick9/20/20189/20/2021Member; Representing early childhood education interests at-largeFayette
Fithian, Kimberly A.3/21/20199/20/2021Member, representing local Head Start programsJefferson

Show Former Members