All Boards and Commissions | Vacancies | Expiring Terms | Search Active Members | Compensation | Apply | Submit Updates

Southern Growth Policies Board

Authority: KRS 147.580
Status: Inactive
Inactive Reason: Abolished June 29, 2017; 2017 Kentucky Acts, Ch. 080, Sec. 58
Term: Pleasure of the Governor
Chair: Board elects Chair and Vice-Chair.
Description: The Southern Growth Policies Board is made up of five members from each participating state; the governor of each state appoints two residents. The participating states are Alabama, Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, Missouri, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, West Virginia, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico and the territory of the Virgin Islands. The purpose of the board is to improve facilities and procedures for study, analysis and planning of government policies, programs and activities of regional significance. The board assists in prevention of interstate conflicts and promotion of regional cooperation.
Composition: Board shall consist of 5 members: the Governor or alternate, 2 members of the State Legislature (appointed by the presiding officer of each house of the Legislature), and 2 residents of the state appointed by the Governor to serve at his pleasure. Governor shall, to the greatest extent practicable, select persons who along with the other members serving, will make the state's representation on the Board broadly representative of the several socio-economic elements within his state. Lieutenant Governor shall serve as one of Governor's appointees.
Compensation: None
Meeting Schedule: at least one time per year.
Number of Members: 3
Needs Senate Confirmation: No
          PO Box 12293
           Research Triangle Park, KY
Phone: (919) 941-5145
Fax: (919) 941-5594


NameAppointedTerm ExpiresPositionCounty
Corrigan, Thomas Robert11/6/2012MemberJefferson
Bevin, Governor Matthew G12/8/2015Ex-Officio
Hampton, Lt. Gov. Jenean12/8/2015Ex-Officio

Show Former Members