All Boards and Commissions | Vacancies | Expiring Terms | Search Active Members | Compensation | Apply | Submit Updates

Reading Diagnostic and Intervention Grant Steering Committee

Authority: KRS 158.794
Status: Active
Term: 3 years
Description: The Reading Diagnostic and Intervention Grant Steering Committee is composed of sixteen members, thirteen of whom are appointed by the Governor. The Committee recommends the approval of grants, advises the Kentucky Board of Education and the Department of Education regarding costs and effectiveness of various reading intervention programs, and identifies the needs, trends, and issues in schools throughout the Commonwealth regarding reading and literacy programs.
Composition: The committee shall be composed of sixteen (16) members including the Commissioner of Education or the Commissioner's designee, the Executive Director of the Collaborative Center for Literacy Development, the President of the Council on Postsecondary Education or the President's designee; the following members shall be appointed by the Governor: Four (4) primary program teachers with a specialty or background in reading and literacy, Four (4) university or college professors with a specialty or background in reading and literacy representing universities; one (1) elementary school principal; one (1) certified library media specialist; and three (3) individuals from the state at-large with an interest in reading and literacy. The Committee shall elect, by majority vote, a Chair, who shall be the presiding officer of the Committee, preside at all meetings, and coordinate the functions and activities of the Committee. The Chair shall be elected and re-elected every calendar year.
Compensation: Expenses
Meeting Schedule: Typically once in the spring and once in the fall, and by call of the Chair.
Number of Members: 12
Needs Senate Confirmation: No
          Kentucky Department of Education 500 Mero Street, 19th Floor Capital Plaza Tower
          Franklin, KY
County: Franklin
Phone: (502) 564-2106
Fax: (502) 564-6470


NameAppointedTerm ExpiresPositionCounty
Brooks, Gerry9/19/20145/16/2017Member; Representing elementary school principalsFayette
Dodds, Lynn E.6/4/20155/16/2018Member; Representing primary teachersScott
Hale, Kristi 8/14/20145/16/2017Member; Representing the state at-largeLyon
Layton, Enola S.6/4/20155/16/2018Member; Representing primary teachersBourbon
Petty, Pamela W.6/4/20155/16/2018Member; Representing university professorsWarren
Porter, Diana Lynn10/2/20155/16/2017Member; Representing university professorsFayette
Robertson, Susan S.6/4/20155/16/2018Member; Representing state at-largeShelby
Wilson, LenaKay E.8/14/20145/16/2018Member; Representing primary teachersMadison
Young, Rosemarie I.6/4/20155/16/2018Member; Representing university professorsJefferson
Hruby, George G.Ex-OfficioFayette
King, Robert L.1/1/2009Ex-OfficioFayette
Pruitt, Stephen L.9/1/2015Ex-OfficioFayette

Show Former Members