All Boards and Commissions | Vacancies | Expiring Terms | Search Active Members | Compensation | Apply | Submit Updates

Owensboro Community & Technical College Board of Directors

Authority: KRS: 164.600
Status: Active
Term: 6 years
Description: The members of the Owensboro Community & Technical College Board of Directors are selected from a list of three names submitted to the Governor by the Owensboro Community & Technical College Nominating Commission and the Governor must select from those three names. The board has five basic statutory responsibilities: (1) Recommend one (1) candidate for college chief executive officer from three candidates provided by the president. The president shall have the authority to make the final appointment and shall not be bound by the recommendation from the board of directors; (2) Evaluate the college chief executive officer and advise the president of his or her performance. The president has final authority for the appointment and termination of the college chief executive officer; (3) Approve budget requests for recommendation to the Kentucky Community and Technical College System; (4) Adopt and amend an annual operating budget and submit it to the board of regents for approval as to the compliance with its guidelines; (5) Approve a strategic plan that is developed in coordination with local employers, civic leaders, campus constituents, and other postsecondary institutions in the region and that is consistent with the strategic agenda of the General Assembly. How each local college board of directors fulfills these five duties may look different in actual practice, but no board should exceed the authority granted within KRS 164.600. Each board should act in ways that support and maintain the ultimate grant of authority to the KCTCS Board of Regents as the governing body for KCTCS.
Composition: Board of Directors shall consist of 10 members, 7 of whom shall be appointed by the Governor. Names are selected from a list of nominees submitted by the Owensboro Community & Technical College Nominating Commission. The other 3 members shall be: 1 teaching faculty member elected by faculty body, 1 staff member elected by the full-time staff members, and 1 student member, that member shall be student body president if such is permanent resident of Kentucky.
Compensation: Expenses as necessary
Meeting Schedule: Quarterly and as needed.
Number of Members: 10
Needs Senate Confirmation: No
          4800 New Hartford Road
          Owensboro, KY
County: Daviess
Phone: (270) 686-4400
Fax: (270)686-4496


NameAppointedTerm ExpiresPositionCounty
Higdon, Marty9/1/20169/1/2019Member; Faculty representative
Borregard, Andrea9/1/20169/1/2019Member; Staff representativeDaviess
Boarman, Jack T.9/1/20169/1/2017Member; Student body representative
Mounts, William K.1/11/20187/15/2022MemberDaviess
Robinson, Cecelia W.1/11/20187/15/2022MemberDaviess
Hayden, M. Joan1/11/20187/15/2023MemberDaviess
Lanham, Jordan Michael12/4/20197/15/2023MemberDaviess
Jones, Patricia A.12/4/20197/15/2024MemberDaviess
Backstrom, Charles Brown Sr.12/4/20197/15/2024MemberDaviess
Hoyt, Douglas A.12/4/20197/15/2024MemberDaviess

Show Former Members