All Boards and Commissions | Vacancies | Expiring Terms | Search Active Members | Compensation | Apply | Submit Updates

Ohio River Valley Water Sanitation Compact

Authority: KRS 224.18-760, Article IV
Status: Active
Term: 4 years
Description: The Ohio River Valley Water Sanitation Commission was established on June 30, 1948 to control and abate pollution in the Ohio River Basin. The Commission is an interstate commission representing eight states and the federal government. Member states include: Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Virginia, and West Virginia. Member states have cooperated to improve water quality in the Ohio River Basin so that the river and its tributaries can be used for drinking water, industrial supplies, and recreational purposes; and can support a healthy and diverse aquatic community. The Commission also operates monitoring programs to check for pollutants and toxins that may interfere with specific uses of the river, and conducts special studies to address emerging water quality issues.
Composition: Governor appoints 3 members who shall be residents and citizens of Kentucky.
Compensation: Expenses
Number of Members: 3
Needs Senate Confirmation: No
          Division of Water 14 Reilly Road
          Frankfort, KY
County: Franklin
Phone: (502) 564-3110
Fax: (502) 564-0111


NameAppointedTerm ExpiresPositionCounty
Lovan, C. Ronald6/7/20166/7/2020MemberBoone
Hampton, Lt. Governor Jenean12/8/2015Ex-officio
Snavely, Secretary Charles G.12/8/2015Ex-officio

Show Former Members