All Boards and Commissions | Vacancies | Expiring Terms | Search Active Members | Compensation | Apply | Submit Updates

Mining Board, The

Authority: KRS 351.105
Status: Inactive
Inactive Reason: Repealed 2017 KY. Acts ch 117, sec. 49, effective June 29, 2017.
Term: 4 years
Chair: The Board elects Chair.
Description: The Kentucky Mining Board consists of eight gubernatorial appointees. The board was created by the General Assembly and is charged with establishing criteria and standards for education and training required of prospective miners and all certified mining personnel. The board also reviews and approves all administrative regulations proposed by the department that relate to the mining of coal, penalties and miner certification.
Composition: 8 members appointed by the Governor (all of whom shall be citizens of KY and from the coal industry in KY. Membership shall reflect a fair representation from eastern KY & western KY, large & small operations, and union & non-union coal production): 3 members representing management, the Alliance of KY Coal shall submit 3 nominees for each management position; 3 members representing labor, the United Mine Workers of America shall submit 3 nominees for each labor position; 1 citizen member with knowledge of mining who is not a coal operator and is not employed in a supervisory or nonsupervisory position in a mine; & the Director of the Division of Miner Training, Education & Certification, who shall serve as a nonvoting member.
Compensation: $150 plus expenses
Meeting Schedule: The members of the Kentucky Mining Board conduct monthly meetings in the Office of Mine Safety and Licensing conference room located at 1025 Capital Center Drive in Frankfort, Kentucky. All meetings begin at 10 a.m. local time and are open to the public. Special meetings are held at the call of the chairperson or a majority of the members.
Number of Members: 8
Needs Senate Confirmation: No
          DNR Department of Mine Safety and Licensing 1025 Capital Center Drive
          Frankfort, KY
County: Franklin
Phone: (502)-573-0140
Fax: (502)-573-0152


NameAppointedTerm ExpiresPositionCounty
Chapman, William M.5/16/20134/10/2017Member; Labor representativeMartin
Damron, Gregory Allen5/16/20134/10/2017Member; Management representativePike
Lusk, Shannon P.5/16/20134/10/2017Member; Citizens at-large representativeJessamine
Miller, Timothy C.9/10/20154/10/2019Member; Labor representativeHopkins
Oldham, Edgar F.7/2/20124/10/2016Member; Labor representativeUnion
Vaughan, Kevin L.9/10/20154/10/2019Member; Management representativeUnion
Vicini, James M.7/2/20124/10/2016Member; Management representativeHarlan
Reed,  Franklin J.Ex-officio

Show Former Members