All Boards and Commissions | Vacancies | Expiring Terms | Search Active Members | Compensation | Apply | Submit Updates

Mine Safety Review Commission

Authority: KRS 351.1041
Status: Active
Term: 4 years
Chair: Governor shall designate Chair.
Description: Recognizing that the highest priority and concern of the commonwealth must be the health and safety of the coal industry's most valuable resource, the miner, resulted in the creation of the Mine Safety Review Commission.The three-member commission, each of whom is required to meet the criteria of a Court of Appeals judge and complete the state's 40-hour new miner trainer program, is appointed by the governor and confirmed by the Kentucky General Assembly. The commission conducts hearings concerning licensed premises and both certified and noncertified personnel involved in coal mining, who are charged with willful and repeated violations of Kentucky's mine safety laws and placing miners in imminent danger of serious injury or death.
Composition: 3 members appointed by the Governor subject to consent of the Senate & House of Representatives in accordance with KRS 11.160.
Compensation: per diem equivalent of salary of a Court of Appeals Judge
Meeting Schedule: The Commission shall meet on the call of the chair or a majority of the members of the Commission. Hearings are conducted regularly.
Number of Members: 3
Needs Senate Confirmation: No
          132 Brighton Park Blvd
          Frankfort, KY
County: Franklin
Phone: (502)-573-0316
Fax: (502)-573-0344


NameAppointedTerm ExpiresPositionCounty
Sloan, David B.5/11/20125/23/2016MemberKenton
Hubbard, W. Bryan11/18/20165/23/2020MemberKenton
Donan, William D.5/17/20195/23/2023ChairJefferson
Miller, George J.12/2/20195/23/2022MemberFayette

Show Former Members