All Boards and Commissions | Vacancies | Expiring Terms | Search Active Members | Compensation | Apply | Submit Updates

Martin Luther King, Jr. State Commission

Authority: EO 2001-15
Status: Active
Term: 4 years
Chair: Governor appoints Chair.
Description: Founded in August 1992, the mission of the Martin Luther King Jr. State Commission is to promote the principles of racial equality and nonviolent social change espoused by the late civil rights leader. The 13-member commission, appointed by the governor, focuses on Dr. King's dream for all Americans to experience full equality, economic justice, and interracial harmony. The Martin Luther King Jr. State Commission sponsors the Martin Luther King Jr. Annual Celebration.
Composition: 13 members appointed by Governor from diverse geographical, racial, and gender backgrounds in Kentucky. Chair appointed by the Governor to coordinate state plans and activities of the Commission.
Compensation: Expenses
Meeting Schedule: 4 times per year and 2 as needed.
Number of Members: 13
Needs Senate Confirmation: No
          Governor’s Office of Minority Empowerment 700 Capital Avenue, Suite 138
          Frankfort, KY
County: Franklin
Phone: (502) 564-2611
Fax: (502) 564-2647


NameAppointedTerm ExpiresPositionCounty
Ramsey, Shannon L.3/5/201412/12/2017MemberJessamine
Turner, Melvin12/12/201412/12/2018MemberJefferson
Washington, Wanda E.12/12/201412/12/2018MemberTaylor
Smith, Yvette M.1/11/201712/12/2020MemberFranklin
Yeast, Tiffany N.1/11/201712/12/2020MemberMercer
Johnson, Michael "Big Mike"7/15/201612/12/2019ChairFayette
Eddings, Waymen7/15/201612/12/2019MemberJefferson
Dimmerman, Pamela Sue8/14/201712/12/2019Member;Kenton
Johnson, John Quincy Sr.12/14/201812/12/2022MemberJefferson
Stovall, Isaiah  Jr.9/13/201912/12/2021MemberFayette
Rivera, Vincent 9/13/201912/12/2021MemberFayette
Russell, Kevin L.9/18/201912/12/2020MemberHardin
Murray, Natasha10/3/201912/12/2020MemberFayette

Show Former Members