All Boards and Commissions | Vacancies | Expiring Terms | Search Active Members | Compensation | Apply | Submit Updates

Historic Properties Advisory Commission

Authority: KRS 11.026
Status: Active
Term: 4 years
Chair: Chair appointed by the Governor and State Curator shall serve as Secretary.
Description: The Historic Properties Advisory Commission is established to provide continuing attention to the maintenance, furnishings, and repairs of the Executive Mansion, Old Governor's Mansion and the New State Capitol. It is comprised of 14 members who include the State Curator, the Director of the Kentucky Historical Society, the Director of the Executive Mansion and the Director of the Old Governor's Mansion. The First Lady serves as an honorary member of the Commission. The Commission has authority over any construction, repairs, structural restoration, or renovation of these properties. In addition, the Commission supervises the maintenance of a current inventory of all furnishings in these properties. The Commission has final authority over articles placed in the properties and moneys spent on these buildings and they develop criteria for the display of objects, and for the use of the public areas and grounds of the New State Capitol.
Composition: 14 members appointed by the Governor as follows: State Curator; Directors of KY Historical Society, Executive Mansion, & Old Governor's Mansion; a resident of Franklin County w/ experience in restoration; 9 members appointed from the state-at-large from persons w/ experience in historical restoration. A member of the Governor's family may serve as an honorary member.
Compensation: Expenses
Meeting Schedule: The commission shall meet at least every 6 months and when called into session by the chairman at the request of the Governor, of any 2 or more members of the commission, or on his own motion.
Number of Members: 14
Needs Senate Confirmation: No
          The Vest-Lindsey House 401 Wapping Street
          Frankfort, KY
County: Franklin
Phone: (502) 564-0900
Fax: (502) 564-6505


NameAppointedTerm ExpiresPositionCounty
Cox, Mary Nash9/24/20158/11/2019MemberFranklin
Waterfield, Lee 3/5/20144/11/2018MemberFranklin
Vaughan, Randall C.9/24/20154/11/2019MemberFayette
Bevin, GlennaHonorary Member
Evans, AnnEx-officio
Whitworth, KentEx-officio
Casebier, LindyEx-officio
Nigels, Lisa Secretary, Ex-officio
Warford, Erin3/14/20188/11/2020DirectorShelby
Forcht, Marion3/21/2018Member
Whelan, Maurita4/11/2018Ex-Officio; representing director of the Executive Mansion
Stephens, Thomas Barrow1/8/20198/11/2021MemberFayette

Show Former Members