All Boards and Commissions | Vacancies | Expiring Terms | Search Active Members | Compensation | Apply | Submit Updates

Gateway Community & Technical College Board of Directors

Authority: KRS 164.600
Status: Active
Term: 6 years
Description: The members of the Gateway Community & Technical College Board of Directors are selected from a list of three names submitted to the Governor by the Gateway Community & Technical College Nominating Commission and the Governor must select from those three names. The board has five basic statutory responsibilities: (1) Recommend one (1) candidate for college chief executive officer from three candidates provided by the president. The president shall have the authority to make the final appointment and shall not be bound by the recommendation from the board of directors; (2) Evaluate the college chief executive officer and advise the president of his or her performance. The president has final authority for the appointment and termination of the college chief executive officer; (3) Approve budget requests for recommendation to the Kentucky Community and Technical College System; (4) Adopt and amend an annual operating budget and submit it to the board of regents for approval as to the compliance with its guidelines; (5) Approve a strategic plan that is developed in coordination with local employers, civic leaders, campus constituents, and other postsecondary institutions in the region and that is consistent with the strategic agenda of the General Assembly. How each local college board of directors fulfills these five duties may look different in actual practice, but no board should exceed the authority granted within KRS 164.600. Each board should act in ways that support and maintain the ultimate grant of authority to the KCTCS Board of Regents as the governing body for KCTCS.
Composition: Board of Directors shall consist of 10 members, 7 of whom shall be appointed by the Governor. Names are selected from a list of nominees submitted by the Gateway Community & Technical College Nominating Commission. The other 3 members shall be: 1 teaching faculty member elected by faculty body, 1staff member elected by the full-time staff members, and 1 student member, that member shall be student body president if such is permanent resident of KY.
Compensation: Expenses
Meeting Schedule: Quarterly and as needed
Number of Members: 10
Needs Senate Confirmation: No
          1025 Amsterdam Road
          Covington, KY
County: Kenton
Phone: (859) 441-4500
Fax: (859) 426-3385


NameAppointedTerm ExpiresPositionCounty
Groob, Jeffrey5/7/201411/15/2019Member, November Strategies
Paul, Kenneth R.5/7/201411/15/2019Member, Cincinnati Bell (Retired)Campbell
Smith-Morrow, Julie Ann5/7/201411/15/2019MemberCampbell
Velez, Iversy5/7/201411/20/2018AttorneyBoone
Wilhite, Michelle Deeley6/1/2016Faculty RepresentativeBoone
Hermes, Erik11/14/201711/15/2023MemberCampbell
Adams, Sonja11/14/201711/15/2023MemberGrant
Sessions, Charles Jr.11/14/201711/15/2018MemberBoone

Show Former Members