All Boards and Commissions | Vacancies | Expiring Terms | Search Active Members | Compensation | Apply | Submit Updates

Elections, State Board of

Authority: KRS 117.015
Status: Active
Term: 4 years
Chair: Secretary of State
Description: The State Board of Elections is charged with administering the Commonwealth's election laws, promulgating administrative regulations necessary to properly carry out its duties, supervising the registration and purgation of voters, appointing the political party representatives to the 120 county boards of elections, and certifying the official election results. The State Board of Elections is comprised of seven members: Secretary of State (Chairman), three Democratic members, and three Republican members appointed by the Governor.
Composition: The Board shall consist of the Secretary of State (who shall serve as Chairman & Chief Election Official), 6 members appointed by the Governor. List should be submitted to the Governor by February 15 in year following inauguration and appointments made by April 1. Appointments shall be made by each officer from a separate list of at least 5 names submitted by the state central executive committee of each of the two political parties that polled the largest vote in last election. No appointed member shall be a candidate for public office or have been a candidate for office for 2 years prior to his appointment, or have been convicted of any election law offense, and shall be at least 25 years of age and qualified voter. Vacancies shall be filled by a person of the same political party of his predecessor.
Compensation: $1,000 monthly - $12,000 yearly
Meeting Schedule: As often as necessary
Number of Members: 7
Needs Senate Confirmation: No
          140 Walnut Street
          Frankfort, KY
County: Franklin
Phone: (502) 573-7100
Fax: (502)573-4369


NameAppointedTerm ExpiresPositionCounty
Grimes, Secretary Alison LunderganEx-officio; Chair
Russell, George7/15/20164/1/2020Member; Democratic Party representativeFranklin
Brangers, DeAnna 3/29/20184/1/2020Member; Representing the Republican Party of KentuckyOldham
Galyon, Erica N.8/21/2018Attorney for Legal Services
Sears, Dwight9/14/20189/15/2022Member, representing the Republican Party of KentuckyPulaski
Branscum, Joshua G.9/14/20189/15/2022Member; Republican Party representativeRussell
Whitehouse, Sherry Rene9/14/20189/15/2022Member; Representing the Democratic Party of KentuckyBullitt
Chandler, Albert B. III9/14/20189/15/2022Member; Democratic Party representativeWoodford
Fitzgerald, Katrina3/19/20193/19/2023Member; representing the County Clerk's AssociationMeade
Lewis, James5/14/20193/19/2023Member; representing the County Clerk's AssociationLeslie

Show Former Members