All Boards and Commissions | Vacancies | Expiring Terms | Search Active Members | Compensation | Apply | Submit Updates

Education, Kentucky Council on Postsecondary

Authority: KRS 164.011
Status: Active
Term: 1 year for student: 4 years for faculty: 6 years for citizens
Description: The Council on Postsecondary Education, a 16-member board appointed by the Governor, is the state coordinating board for postsecondary and adult education in Kentucky.
Composition: Ex-officio non-voting: Commissioner, Dept. of Education; Gov. appoint a faculty member, a student member & 13 citizen members. Citizen members shall be confirmed by the Senate and House of Representatives. Citizen members shall be selected from list of nominees submitted by the Governor's Postsecondary Education Nominating Committee. Gov. shall assure broad geographical balance, political proportional representation, minority racial composition and equal representation of the two sexes. No more than 2 shall hold an undergraduate degree from any one KY University, and no more than 3 voting members shall reside in any one KY Supreme Court Dist. at the date of appointment. Faculty members (fulltime) shall be appointed by Gov. from list of 3 nominees selected by majority vote of the 10 faculty members who serve as faculty reps of the Boards of Trustees & Boards of Regents of the 9 postsecondary education institutions. Student member (full-time) selected annually from the 8 student body presidents of 4 year state public institutions of higher education & 2 student members to the KY Community & Technical College System shall elect by majority vote 3 names to submit to the Gov. before June 1 of each year. Membership elects Chair and Vice-Chair. Members shall not serve more than 2 full consecutive terms.
Compensation: $100 plus expenses
Meeting Schedule: Quarterly
Number of Members: 16
Needs Senate Confirmation: No
          1024 Capital Center Dr., Ste. 320
          Frankfort, KY
County: Franklin
Phone: (502) 573-1555
Fax: (502) 573-1535


NameAppointedTerm ExpiresPositionCounty
Beal, Ronald C.7/5/201612/31/2017MemberWarren
Brandstetter, Benjamin E.7/5/201612/31/2020MemberBoone
Campbell, Donna Moore1/10/201412/31/2019Vice-ChairFayette
Denton, Glenn D.7/29/201112/31/2016ChairMcCracken
Flanagan, Dan E.7/29/201112/31/2016MemberTaylor
Ravichandran, Vidya7/5/201612/31/2021MemberJefferson
Wright, Virginia C.7/5/201612/31/2021Member; Student representativeJackson
Zimmerman, Sherrill B.1/10/201412/31/2019MemberJefferson
Pruitt, Commissioner StephenEx-officio
Mentzer, Lucas V.3/28/201712/31/2022Member; Supreme Court District 5 RepFayette
Nelson, Kristi Poore4/23/201912/31/2024MemberBoone
Halbauer, Kimberly7/27/201712/31/2020MemberCampbell
Papalia, Joseph P.1/5/201812/31/2023MemberJefferson
Staat, Robert H.1/5/20186/30/2021MemberOldham
Oleka, Onyejindu4/23/201912/31/2024MemberJefferson
Wilson, Brandon Kyle4/23/201912/21/2023MemberCarlisle
Nelson, Richard Ryan8/16/201912/31/2022Member, representing the Supreme Court District 1Trigg
Minix, Isaac Grant8/6/20196/30/2020Member, representing studentsFloyd

Show Former Members